Home » Blog Category » Take Two

Take Two

The continuation of Jamy Ian Swiss’ exploration of modern magic busking—that is, street magic—and how those traditions have forged some of magic’s more memorable performers.

Submitted Fri, 04/14/2017

This week's Take Two looks at performers whose "stage" is the street—from 1502, to the 1970s, and right up to the present day. 

Submitted Fri, 04/07/2017

Take Two treats you to a master class session on the Not So Ancient, Maybe Not So Chinese, Linking Rings. Learn the value of presenting classics of magic.

Submitted Thu, 03/30/2017

In this week's instalment, Jamy explores the magical innovations of a true creative genius, French magician, Gaëtan Bloom. 

Submitted Fri, 03/24/2017

This week, Jamy Ian Swiss reflects on an extraordinary pair of performers, “who blasted the doors off of Las Vegas to make way for the revolution in magic’s popularity”—the dynamic team known as Siegfried & Roy.

Submitted Fri, 03/17/2017

Although card flourishes have been a part of card magic for a long time, the world of cardistry is relatively young. But is it magic or juggling? Or both?

Submitted Thu, 03/09/2017

Meet Jean Valton, an early star of “manipulative” magic and a talent who took the international magic competition scene by storm in the 1940s.

Submitted Sat, 03/04/2017

On Friday, February 24, I lost not one, but two friends, colleagues, and artistic influences. In this week's Take Two I offer commentary and condolence.

 

Submitted Sun, 02/26/2017

This week's Take Two focuses on a creative, celebrated and highly-focused performer, Paul Gertner.

Submitted Fri, 02/17/2017

In this week’s Take Two, Jamy Ian Swiss zeros in on manipulative magic and explores the beauty and grace of this potentially abstract branch of magic.

Submitted Thu, 02/09/2017

Pages

Latest Tweets

@sharingwonder Success! Here‘s @emmagatt handing out certificates to the newly minted magicians of @campoochigeas These performers… https://t.co/zpfhupdI1H
December 6, 2018 2:41 pm
@sharingwonder Happy birthday @jamyianswiss! Thank you for another year of writing and reviews in the #LyonsDen. https://t.co/gUYQnXHylM
November 30, 2018 8:40 am

Photo Stream