Home » Reviews

Reviews

Steve Bryant, Little Egypt Magic |  April 2018

How do you even begin to review The Magic of Johnny Thompson Volumes I and II? First, I suppose, you drive down to the word store and load up on superlatives. Every aspect of these books is first rate, and their contents constitute a graduate course in close-up and platform magic. At over 600 pages written by Jamy Ian Swiss and Johnny Thompson and illustrated with over 1100 photos by Julie Eng, with David Ben and Karl Johnson on hand to edit, this is a staggering work.

Submitted Mon, 04/30/2018

 

by David Ben & Patrick Watson, directed by David Ben

Magicana in association with Soulpepper, Michael Young Theatre, Young Centre, Toronto

December 14-31, 2016

Engaging the Mind and the Eye

Submitted Thu, 12/15/2016

" ... an instant classic and earns my rarely given 'Must Have in Your Library' status." Rolando Santos, Linking Ring

Submitted Fri, 05/13/2016

"No mere annotation, The Experts gives Erdnase a complete overhaul. ... And by the time the reader turns the final page, the only conclusion is that this book is the work of a sincere student of Erdnase and one of the finest sleight-of-hand artists alive." - JARED KOPF

Submitted Thu, 10/29/2015

"This book is a pleasure to page through, and is an important and welcome addition to Erdnasiana. It deserves all the praise it is already getting, and will surely create rabid anticipation for the next two volumes in the trilogy." - JOHN LOVICK

Submitted Fri, 10/02/2015

"...David has made the once-daunting material more accessible than ever. For my first time, I read the text cover to cover, and it all made sense. Previous attempts with the original caused my eyes to glaze over." - STEVE BRYANT

Submitted Mon, 08/10/2015

"...if you have some card technique under your belt and if you’ve wanted to plunge into the Erdnase pond, this is a great way to experience the material – demonstrated and organized by a man who has spent his life studying it." - MICHAEL CLOSE 

Submitted Sat, 08/01/2015

The Bammo Ten Card Deal Dossier is a masterful work of scholarship. Farmer’s arrangement, even when it is forced to diverge from the overall plan, is coherent and logical.

Submitted Fri, 06/19/2015

 “… If you have any intention of performing a gambling routine, you would be foolish to pass this book up—even if you are familiar with the original version of the trick …." - Jack Shalom

Submitted Tue, 06/02/2015

“… Bob Farmer has collected the best of them, perhaps almost all of them, together in this volume. You are spoiled for choice in this 400-page encyclopedia..." - David Britland

Submitted Mon, 06/01/2015

Pages

Newsletter Signup