Home » News » Blog » International Rising Star 2019

International Rising Star 2019

Today, we continue to recognize emerging talent—this time with a broader, global reach—through the Allan Slaight International Rising Star Award.

This award acknowledges outstanding work by an up-and-coming magician and it comes with an engraved iPad, and a prize of $5,000 from the Slaight Family Foundation. Past recipients of this award are: Henry Vargas of Brazil, Jorge Blass of Spain, Edward Hilsum of Great Britain, and last year’s recipient, Noah Levine of the United States.

We are delighted to announce that DING YANG of China is this year’s International Rising Star!

Watch the video above to learn more about this magician, and the development of her unique act.

We also express our deepest thanks to Stan Allen, the Magic LIVE convention, Juliana Chen and Greg Frewin for their combined efforts to bring this award to Ding Yang.


Tomorrow, we will announce the 2019 Sharing Secrets award recipient. Last year it was the College of Magic. Stay tuned to find out who will be named this year’s secret sharer!


2019 Allan Slaight Awards

Canadian Rising Star

International Rising Star


Sharing Wonder

Sharing Wonder is what we do. Stay in the know and up-to-date with our latest projects through our Sharing Wonder blog.

Latest Tweets

@sharingwonder The Allan Slaight Lifetime Achievement Award is meant to recognize a person's or organization’s commitment to advan… https://t.co/IfZ3HjHZGP
January 15, 2021 1:01 pm
@sharingwonder The Sharing Wonder Award recognizes an innovative performance over the past year, to recognize exceptional perform… https://t.co/NsWHc0L2qF
January 14, 2021 1:01 pm

Photo Stream